A Baptist at a Catholic Mass

While out of town for about three weeks, I had the privilege of attending a Catholic Mass of a colleague of mine.  In typical Baptist fashion, I sat in the back.

However, when my Catholic priest friend asked the attendees to stand, I stood as well and so on.  But as he went around sharing the bread, I crossed my arms, meaning: I will receive a blessing instead of the bread.

It became a matter of conscience, informed by my theology on the matter.  But I’m also aware that others see things differently, and therefore would have taken the bread.

This entry was posted in Baptists, Catholicism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Baptist at a Catholic Mass

  1. David Beirne says:

    Been to several Catholic funeral masses and always hear priest say all us unconfirmed ones need not participate.

  2. TC says:

    Yes, we do that kind of fencing too. But something I failed to put in the post is the fact that my colleague was about to give me the wafer. I wished he had fenced it. But he did not in this case.

  3. Simon says:

    TC, I thought that the Eucharist can’t be offered to non-catholics as a matter of doctrine. I guess there’s no way for the priest to know whether a visitor is RC or not unless you indicate that you aren’t. I go to Mass with my gf who is RC. I always remain seated when it’s time to go up the front to receive the Eucharist. I am not in communion with Rome and so can’t participate in the Eucharist at Catholic Mass.

    • TC says:

      Simon, my colleague knew I was non-Catholic. There was no doubt in his mind. I’m sure of that. Prior to my visit we had had conversations on that matter. Just one of those moments, I guess.

      No, we all stood in our seats while the priest went around. No one went forward.

  4. Simon says:

    So are you saying that at the congregation you attended, it was ok for non-Catholics to have Communion? That’s very interesting if that’s the case.

    • TC says:

      Not saying that. I think he was just excited to see me and such got the better of him. I don’t think it is the norm. Certainly not.

Leave a Reply

