A New Year Re-Commitment: Bible Memorization

In my teens and twenties, I was quite fond of Bible memorization.  I memorized whole chapters and so on.

Now I find myself struggling to recall Scripture texts like I once did.

Even worse, I went to the barber shop to get a haircut, and when my barber found out my profession, she asked for a Word of the Day.

I recited Psalm 23:1.  But she asked for more.  I couldn’t give her more.  I was stuck.  I felt embarrassed.

In fact, she said that I should be able to just recall Scripture from memory.  She was right.

I will love to get back to that sweet spot of Bible memorization that I once enjoyed when I was in my teens and twenties.

I simply need to slow down and get back to work…

This entry was posted in Scripture Memorization and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A New Year Re-Commitment: Bible Memorization

  1. Jon Hughes says:

    Hi TC,

    I’ve got to the point where I can often recall the Scripture reference, but not the actual words!

  2. David Beirne says:

    I had a parishioner ask me to help her memorize James. I know we finished chapter 1 around Good Friday 2013. Day after Christmas we were up to 5:4. We had two-three week spells where we both got busy and slacked off and then got back on it. I’m also hoping it will help stave off Alzheimers :>)

    • TC says:

      Good stuff. I visited a church about two years ago and witnessed a middle-aged lady recited the book of James from memory from the New Living Translation Bible. It was awesome. Yeah, exercising memory muscles work wonders – so I hear too!

  3. Colin says:

    A real challenge to us relatively lazy modern Westerners, including or even especially myself!

    I had a vicar some years ago – one of the Guinness family (the ministerial/missionary element of that family). He described to me one of his uncles/cousins who was working in China until forced to flee. Through necessity he could recite large chunks of Scripture from memory.

    I don’t go in for New Year resolutions but if I did……………..

Leave a Reply

