Book Review: The Signature of Jesus by Brennan Manning

If you’ve not read The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning, then you need to do so as soon as possible.  In it Manning explores Radical Grace.

In The Signature of Jesus, a sequel to The Ragamuffin Gospel, Manning tackles what he calls Radical Discipleship.  “Discipleship is our response to grace,” he says.

“In his numerous letters Paul confirms that to follow Jesus is to take the high road to Calvary.  Littered along the Calvary road will lie the skeletons of our egos, the corpses of our fantasies of control, and the shards of self-righteousness, self-indulgent spirituality, and unfreedom.” (p. 9).

After reading The Ragamuffin Gospel and now The Signature of Jesus, I can say that Manning gets it.  He’s right, “Christianity is simpler and grandeur than the commentators and theologians have made it out to be” (p. 47)

Reflecting on the cross of Christ, Manning laments, “We turn the monstrous scandal of Calvary into a piece of dignified jewelry to be worn around the neck” (p. 56).

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Brennan Manning, Grace and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Review: The Signature of Jesus by Brennan Manning

  1. Jillian says:

    I have to say that I’ve never read a book ON christianity…I’ve always resisted being instructed on how to view the Bible, through the commentary of “some author.”

    And I was right; I didn’t know how to receive those interpretations, so it was better that I didn’t take them in.

    But you’ve convinced me that I might be at a place where I can give christian books a shot.

  2. tc robinson says:

    Jillian, reading the Bible for yourself, reflecting and meditating is the first order.

    But reading other good Christian writers, I think, is the second order.

    There are often things that elude us in a text of Scripture that others are able to help us to see. Some are more prepared in certain studies of the text.

    But we must be discerning as we read. We have the resident teacher living in us, to help us.

  3. transientglory says:

    I’ve wrestled with the scriptures for a long time. Several times I decided to stop reading books about Christianity and simply stick with what I can glean from the Bible. That mentality has never lasted long for me. There are some authors that I always go back to because what they have to say really strikes me as genuine truth. Brennan Manning is one of them. He is earthy, raw, and isn’t afraid to show his weaknesses and failures. He always drives home the fact that God loves us as we are and not as we should be because none of us are as we should be. While some people would think this kind of talk might cause people to continue in sinful behavior, I believe that it is a foundational truth that produces a desire in true disciples to please God. Love calls forth love.

  4. Pingback: Brennan Manning has Died (1934-2013) | New Leaven

Leave a Reply

