Some Love for the ESV…

I admit that I’m not a fan of the ESV, but I have to give credit where it’s due:

As I was working on my sermon for Sunday, I decided to consult the ESV‘s rendering on several texts:

John 15:26

“But when the Helper comes, whom I will send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth, who proceeds from the Father, he will bear witness about me. (emphasis added)

Acts 1:8

But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.” (emphasis added)

Acts 5:32

And we are witnesses to these things, and so is the Holy Spirit, whom God has given to those who obey him.” (emphasis added)

When you want to make a point about a particular word, “witness” (Gk. μάρτυς, “a witness,” or μαρτυρέω, “I witness”), a little concordance is good.

So kudos for the ESV.

This entry was posted in Acts, Bibles, ESV, Holy Spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Some Love for the ESV…

  1. Theophrastus says:

    The concordance of “witness” in those three verses was already in the RSV, the ASV, and the RV.

    I’m only willing to give the ESV credit for improvements it made to the English text.

  2. tc robinson says:

    Theo,

    I got you.

    Well, I’ve found the ESV making changes from the RSV that are not good. See 1 Cor. 5:5 and 1 Tim 1:20 for example. Bad change on the ESV’s part.

  3. I really like the recently released ESV with Apocrypha from Oxford Press. Very compact for a Bible with Apocrypha, yet nice print size. It’s a bit odd going to the back for the Apocrypha rather than the middle, but that’s their Protestantism showing, I guess. It’s defintely a reader’s edition, but the price is nice, too.

    Of course, like you, TC, I’d really like an NRSV from Oxford in the same format. And while I’m making wishes, can I get a NET with Apocrypha, along with a wheel barrow to carry it around in? 😉

  4. tc robinson says:

    LOL… Chuck, NET with Apocrypha, along with a wheel barrow, now that’s funny.

    For some reason I don’t find myself using the Apocrypha that much. But I’ll look at it.

  5. TC,

    I don’t use the Apocrypha in church setting much myself.;-)

    But for intertestamental history and culture, they’re a must. A number of the books are quite edifying, like the Apostolic Fathers. Much better reading for you than what passes for “devotional” or “Christian Living” material in bookstores these days.

  6. tc robinson says:

    Chuck, yeah, they are quite beneficial for what you just outlined.

    When I’m doing background studies and so on, they make for good stuff.

    But I never really got into the “Fathers.”

  7. I have had some of the same concerns with the esv but they did a good job on this one. Thanks for pointing it out.

Leave a Reply

