Fellow Pastors, Preach Bible Memorization

I have stored up your word in my heart,
that I might not sin against you.  (Psalm 119:11 ESV, emphasis added)

We are blessed to have the Bible readily available to us here in American.  Talk about easy access that we now enjoy that previous generations had no clue about—wow!  But here’s the irony, it seems like they had more of the Bible in their heads than we do.

So I say to fellow pastors, stress the value and importance of Bible memorization.  Let me highlight three reasons: first, when we read and memorize God’s Word, we are showing our love for God and his Word (Psalm 119:97).

Second, we are leaving a great legacy for future generation of believers.  In a culture that is becoming increasingly biblically illiterate, it is crucial that we leave a legacy of Bible memorization (Deut. 6:6-8).

Third, by memorizing the Bible and having it readily available, we are preparing ourselves to fight the good fight of faith that we are currently engaged in (1 Tim. 1:18).  When the devil tempted Jesus and even quoted the Bible in the process, Jesus was able to overcome because he himself had memorized the Word (Matt. 4).

Finally, in my own life, I’ve found that when I memorize the Word and recite it to myself, especially in times of temptations and trials, that my spirit experiences a calm.  There’s a sort of victory that I enjoy.

This entry was posted in Bible Memorization, Pastoral Ministry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

