Charles Haddon Spurgeon on the Bible

Charles Haddon Spurgeon, who was born on June 19, 1834, was a 19th century Baptist pastor who was both calvinistic and evangelistic in his ministry.  In his The Gospel Focus of Charles Spurgeon, Steven J. Lawson prays, “May the Lord grant to preachers in this present generation the mind, heart, and passion of Charles Spurgeon–a mind for the truth, a heart for the world, and a passion for the glory of God” (pp. 126-27).

C.H. Spurgeon was committed to the Bible.  He loved the Bible.

The Bible is God’s Bible; and when I see it, I seem to hear a voice springing up from it, saying, “I am the book of God; man, read me. I am God’s writing; open my leaf, for I was penned by God; read it, for he is my author, and you will see him visible and manifest everywhere.”  (Taken from a  sermon Spurgeon delivered on March 18, 1855, that you may find here)

Like Rev. Lawson, I pray that those who stand in the pulpit and those who write may have the mind, heart, and passion of a Charles Spurgeon–“a mind for the truth, a heart for the world, and a passion for the glory of God.”

This entry was posted in Calvinism, Charles Spurgeon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

