Lectures to My Students

I was a mere teenage when I first heard of Charles Haddon Spurgeon.  Come to think about it, I actually went out and bought a short biography about the “Prince of Preachers.”  I do not recall a whole lot about this biography (it was small and whitish looking).  However, I knew I wanted to preacher like ol’ Spurgeon.

More than a decade later, I find myself reading Spurgeon’s Lectures to My Students.  To be honest, the Lord is using this classic work, to turn my world upside down, so to speak.  The Lord has been reproving and rebuking me.  I have been exposed.

I have been compelled to make a study of myself.

So I say to fellow preachers and ministers of the Word–give Lectures to My Students a read, if you haven’t done so.  And if you have read it, please reread it.  Keep it close.  Your ministry would be tremendously blessed.

This entry was posted in Charles Spurgeon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

