On Reading Christian Biographies

As a teenage, back in the 1990s, I was drawn to the reading of Christian biographies.  I still don’t know why.  But I’m sure glad I did.  I read on Charles Haddon Spurgeon, “Prince of Preachers” and pastor of the Metropolitan Tabernacle, Billy Sunday, that enigmatic evangelist, George W. Truett, pastor of First Baptist of Dallas and president of the Southern Baptist Convention, Billy Graham, that great evangelist.

Over the years, I stepped away from reading Christian biographies.  But I’ve found my way back, reading biographies on Martin Luther, John Calvin, Jonathan Edwards, John MacArthur, and a few others.

There’s a degree of inspiration that I continue to draw from these faithful servants of the Lord whom he raised up for the appointed times in which they served, despite their human weaknesses and sinful actions at times.  I’m reminded of Hebrews 13:7:

Remember your leaders, those who spoke to you the word of God. Consider the outcome of their way of life, and imitate their faith (emphasis added).

I still have quite a few biographies I would still love to read.  With time, I believe I shall get to them.

Now I’m reading Warren W. Wiersbe’s autobiography.

This entry was posted in Charles Spurgeon, John Calvin and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

