My Daughter’s Plan of Salvation

So I was helping my daughter with her Awana Bible verses, to memorize them.  This time around, my daughter had to memorize Acts 16:31: “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be save, you and your shousehold.”

I then asked my daughter, “How is a person saved?”

Her reply, “Well, we need to read our Bibles…”

I couldn’t believe what I was hearing.  In our house we never teach such things.  In fact, my wife and I named our daughter Charis, the Greek word for “grace.”  We are all about God’s grace.

I was left to wonder where did my six year old daughter obtain such a works righteousness approach to salvation.  There are a few possibilities: (1) perhaps she heard it at Awana.  But I don’t think so.  (2) Maybe it was from someone else.  But who?  I don’t know.  (3) More likely, I think her answer came from that pride in all of us, even in a six year old, believing that we can earn the favor of God through our good deeds, the good things we do, like reading our Bibles, praying, attending church and the like.

The occasion with my young daughter gave me an opportunity to teach her more about Jesus and the salvation that is found in him.  I directed her thinking back to Acts 16:31: “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be save, you and your shousehold.”

I plan to ask my daughter soon, How is a person saved?

This entry was posted in Bible Memorization and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

