On Reading The Sacred Journey by Federick Buechner

Federick Buechner, though a Presbyterian minister, is somewhat hard to peg.  He continues to elude.  I’ve read his Telling the Truth and The Storm, a fictional work.

The Sacred Journey is a memoir of the his early years.  Mr. Buechner is something of a spiritual mystic: “The swallows, the rooster, the workmen, my stomach, all with their elusive rhythms, their harmonies and disharmonies and counterpoint, became, as I listened, the sound of my own life speaking to me” (pp. 2-3).

Perhaps the good Lord will use Frederick Buechner and The Sacred Journey to speak to even me.

This entry was posted in Frederick Buechner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

