Beholding the Glory of the Lord in the Gospels

A few days ago I wrote in my journal three expressions from 2 Corinthians 3 and 4: (1) “Beholding the glory of the Lord” (3:18).  (2) “Seeing the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God” (4:4). And (3) “To give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ” (4:6).  I then found myself meditating on these expression for quite sometime.

In fact, my reflections on the Corinthians texts took me to the Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John).  I began to ask myself, Where do we really see the glory of the Lord Jesus on display, if not in the Gospels?  Isn’t this what John is getting at in John 1:14?

And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.  (emphasis added)

In his three and a half years of teaching and healing , Jesus’ glory was on display.  Again, this is the conclusion that we must draw from a text like John 1:14.

If not from the Gospels–Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John–Where else then should we behold the glory of the Lord?

Yes, the three expressions that I wrote in my journal from 2 Corinthians 3 and 4 took me to the Gospels–to behold the glory of the Lord.

This entry was posted in The Gospels and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

