When Jesus seeks Glory

From a few passages in John 11, I believe that we can soundly and safely conclude that when Jesus seeks his own glory–it’s a good thing.

When he heard this, Jesus said, “This sickness will not end in death. No, it is for God’s glory so that God’s Son may be glorified through it.” (11:4 NIV84, emphasis added)

Next,

Then Jesus said, “Did I not tell you that if you believed, you would see the glory of God?”

So they took away the stone. Then Jesus looked up and said, “Father, I thank you that you have heard me. I knew that you always hear me, but I said this for the benefit of the people standing here, that they may believe that you sent me” (vv. 40-42, emphasis added).

We may thus conclude: during his earthly sojourn, when Jesus seeks his own glory, not only is the heavenly Father glorified but mankind is blessed in the process.

However, keep in mind, that for Jesus to seek his own glory meant the eternal elevation of fallen humanity (John 17:4-5).

This entry was posted in The Glory of God and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

