Put your Beliefs to the Test

In college I was blessed to read Plato’s The Apology of Socrates.  I had heard the famous “The unexamined life is not worth living,” which Plato attributes to Socrates, at his trial.  But I had no context for this immortal quote until I read The Apology of Socrates, which provided the necessary context for me to truly appreciate the quote.

What am I hitting at?  Well, as believers we owe it to ourselves to put our beliefs to the acid test of Scripture.  Or to paraphrase Socrates, “Unexamined beliefs are not worth keeping.”  For example, do I simply believe that Scripture doesn’t teach baptismal regeneration as Baptists and others affirm without personal examination, or do I examine Scripture daily, to see if these things are so (Acts 17:11)?

Scripture itself expects us to be truly convinced about our beliefs, even in secondary and tertiary issues (Romans 14:22-23).

An excellent way I’ve found to do this is to read someone who disagrees with you.  For example, as a Baptist, I have put my views about believer’s baptism to the test by reading one proponent of infant baptism after the other–countless!  Along the way, while putting my convictions to the test, I’ve been able to reaffirm them with a higher level of assurance.

This entry was posted in Baptism, Baptists, Infant Baptism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

