On Reading the Bible

Like many, I began the new year with a reading plan, with the noble goal of reading through the Bible in a year.  But it wasn’t working for me.  I really wanted to stick to it.  But I didn’t.

Rather, I decided to read selectively, reading a book of the Bible here and another there.  This seems to be working for me at the moment.  For example, when I had trouble falling to sleep the other night, I stayed up and read Ephesians, 2 Thessalonians, 2 Timothy, and Philemon.

Yesterday I read Ruth.  And the day before, I read Ecclesiastes.  Occasionally I would be compelled to meditate on a passage, a verse, a phrase, a word, and to record my thoughts in my journal.

This entry was posted in Reading the Bible and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

