The Four Gospels are Remarkable Biographies

In the past, when I wanted to learn more about the life of Jesus of Nazareth, I would grab a book I had purchased–off my shelf.  For some reason, I had reasoned that I’d learn more from them than the actual Four Gospels.

I don’t do that anymore.  Now I read the Four Gospels to learn about the life and ministry of Jesus of Nazareth, the God-man.

The Four Gospels are most remarkable.  They are God-breathed.  They are reliable.  They are authoritative.  They are the definitive biographies of the life of Jesus of Nazareth.  All of them–Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.

I love their portrait.

Neither do I worry about trying to harmonies them.  I did enough of that during my seminary days.

And while I continue to learn from the teachers the Lord has blessed the church with, on the life and ministry of Jesus–they are no Matthew, Mark, Luke, or John.

This entry was posted in Four Gospels, Historical Jesus, Jesus and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Four Gospels are Remarkable Biographies

  1. Simon says:

    TC, how do you deal with contradictions between the Gospels (e.g. differences in the Passion narrative etc)?

  2. Simon says:

    I know that you’ve said that you’re not particulalrly concerned about these probs, but you have given (unnecessarily i think) an inerrantist view of the Gospel accounts, so it does beg the question.

    • TC says:

      Simon, recently I read about a 17th century Welch preacher who advocated reading the Bible “carelessly,” by which he means not trying to fit everything into our Western logic mindset – the tendency to try to figure everything out on our terms.

      Yes, there are discrepancies, but I’m with the Baptist NT scholar Robert Stein here, when he said we need to give the NT writers the benefit of the doubt, until we know better. I’m not convinced that we have. Perhaps it’s a matter of historiography here.

  3. Simon says:

    I understand where you’re coming from TC. However, I do think that inerrancy, at least as set out in the Chicago Statement, is problematic if you take this view. I’m not sure whether you subscribe to Chicago, but I do think that it conflicts with Stein’s view you presented above.

Leave a Reply

