Quote of the Day: A Roman Catholic Priest

Faith does not always give us all the answers we seek but faith does give us the strength and ability to live with unanswered questions.”  —a Roman Catholic Priest

This entry was posted in Quote of the Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quote of the Day: A Roman Catholic Priest

  1. Todd Beal says:

    TC,

    I wrote a post on my Truth Behind Reality blog, titled “Is Faith the Same as Trust or Belief?” I am interested to hear your thoughts.

  2. Simon says:

    TC, the priest has got it right. Much of the problems with conservative evangelicalism is the pretense (I believe) to having all the answers – or at least knowing more stuff than others (there seems to be a assumption that the Reformed are smarter or better students of the Bible than other Christians). But certainty is not faith. This is why, I think, many from a conservative evangelical background give up on the faith. They are taught to be certain about things that we can’t be certain about. It’s a house of cards. Once the certainty is gone, the whole faith crumbles with it. Faith is recognising that we can’t know it all – for instance God’s movement in creation. But living in accordance with what is good and true not matter what. And by living according to what is good and true, I mean living by love. Love is the only good and true thing in the world. That is why the Apostle says “God is love” 🙂 (And this is perhaps why conservative evangelicals want to minimise the full force of this statement – look at the ESV Study Bible’s commentary on this passage)

    • TC says:

      My friend, to my shame I don’t own an ESV SB. 🙂 To be honest, I’ve never really been fond of SBs.

      At any rate, I quite agree with your critique. Yes, the priest got it right, but no reason for me to leave Geneva for Rome. 😉

  3. Simon says:

    haha I’m not asking you to move to Rome!! Constantinople maybe… haha jokes 😉

    Yes I think you’re right about study Bibles. I do own the ESV SB out of interest sake and there is some good stuff in there.

    • TC says:

      Ah, Constantinople! I once had a hearty conversation with an Orthodox believer while waiting at a hospital with him. It was my first such encounter. Learned quite a lot. He allowed me to pray with him.

Leave a Reply

