Karl Barth’s Theology in a Sentence

During the Q & A time, after his lecture, a student asked the famed Swiss Reformed theologian Karl Barth if he could summarize his whole life’s work in theology, in a sentence. The famed theologian said,

“Yes, I can. In the words of a song I learned at my mother’s knee: ‘Jesus loves me, this I know, for the Bible tells me so.”

I’ve always been intrigued by this story ever since I heard it.  I thought I’d share it here.  Be blessed with this childlike answer of such a towering theological giant.

This entry was posted in Karl Barth, Reformed and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Karl Barth’s Theology in a Sentence

  1. Jon Hughes says:

    Saves me reading his Church Dogmatics then 😉

Leave a Reply

