Martin Luther’s “Here I Stand” turns 492yrs Old

To mark this significant day in Reformation history, until 11:59 p.m. EST tonight RC Sproul and Ligioner ministries are offering the eBook edition of Dr. Steven Lawson’s newly released book, The Heroic Boldness of Martin Luther, for free in two formats:

Below is a vedio clip of that significant moment, captured by Niall MacGinnis in his 1953 Martin Luther role:

Text:

“Unless I am convinced by Scripture or by clear reasoning that I am in error – for popes and councils have often erred and contradicted themselves – I cannot recant, for I am subject to the Scriptures I have quoted; my conscience is captive to the Word of God. It is unsafe and dangerous to do anything against ones conscience. Here I stand. I cannot do otherwise. So help me God. Amen.”

This entry was posted in Martin Luther, RC Sproul and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Martin Luther’s “Here I Stand” turns 492yrs Old

  1. Simon says:

    You have to admire his conviction. But I think I can detect the seedlings of the Enlightenment in the quote above – the dawn of the age of reason. Perhaps the Reformation was the beginning of using Aristotelian logic where it ought not to be used.

  2. Simon says:

    yes… maybe i should qualify that statement. This is a Western phenomenon.. starting in the middle ages. However I do think the Protestants took this to another level.

Leave a Reply

