On The Hunger Games

The-Hunger-GamesLast evening, my wife and I watched the popular The Hunger Games for the first time.  My wife has vowed never to watch it again.

While watching it, I kept saying to my wife, “This reminds me of those gladitorial games where people gathered in the colliseum to watch human beings slaughter one another for entertainment.

Also, what we have is a type of social darwinianism going on, survival of the fittest.  What is even worse–are kids killing kids–for the sadistic enjoyment of some and the heartbreak and dread of others.

Perhaps I’m overreacting, concluding like many that this is pure entertainment and does not affect our psyche and social behavior one bit.

But I can’t help getting ticked off especially with the recent school shootings by kids.  Not only that, but across the US, we have kids bullying kids, leading to suicides.

Now I hear the second installment of The Hunger Games should be coming out soon.

This entry was posted in Darwinianism, Movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On The Hunger Games

  1. R. Mansfield says:

    It’s not meant to glorify the games. They are supposed to be shocking/abhorrent. That’s part of the writer’s point.

  2. Lon says:

    Hmmm… Most stories we read have a conflict, and the conflicts are often good vs. evil. You can get that in Lewis and Tolkien if you didn’t care for this story. My daughter read the trilogy to the whole family (youngest child was 11 at the time) in 2011 while we were on long road trips and we thoroughly enjoyed the stories. We thought the movie did a pretty good job of capturing the first book, and in fact, I just started re-reading it two days ago. The evil elements you describe are clearly in the plot of the story, but (and this is the key moral feature for all fictional and historical literature/media) the evil elements are clearly portrayed as evil, not as neutral or good.

    Sorry, you didn’t enjoy it though.

    • TC says:

      Lon, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed Lewis and Tolkien – on the fairytale/fantasy side of things. While watching Hunger Games, as mentioned in the post, I was being reminded of all the recent school shootings and bullying that have been going on. As I also said, I might be overreacting here.

  3. bishopdave says:

    I saw Hunger Games and read the trilogy. To me, it’s the perfect storm created by the melding of dariwinian theroy with reality tv. It’s exactly where our society is headed, if the lack of moral constraint continues. It’s harmartiology. Did Lord of the Flies create controversy? We had to read that in high school, and it’s a much more plausible plot (kids shipwrecked on an island with no supervision, kids killing kids).
    And school shootings and bullying started long before these books came out. Hunger Games is more of a byproduct than a contributor.

    • TC says:

      BishopDave, thanks for stopping by. Perhaps a byproduct, but will it end there?

      “It’s harmartiology.” I quite agree, and I appreciate the reference to Lord of the Flies.

  4. bishopdave says:

    Will it end there? Being pre-millenial, I’d say no, it’ll get worse till Jesus comes :). I honestly could see in 3-4 generations or less the hunger games scenario being played for real. Behold our fascination with tv show like Survivor–you win by back-stabbing and manipulating. Turn on your former allies is necessary to win. Many feel the video games give rise to those who find the line between reality and fantasy blurrier and blurrier– are there not connections between many random shootings and the games. When you play it for literally hours (sleepovers where from 10pm-4am the xbox is rocking.) how can this not affect perception.

    • TC says:

      Yes, I too do not expect things to get any better – too many signs to the contrary. Art imitate life or life imitating art? That’s the question.

Leave a Reply

