Michael F. Bird on Denny Burk, Andy Stanley and Jesus vs the Bible

“Andy Stanley’s remarks made me grind my teeth in discomfort, while Denny’s response left me sympathetic but deeply frustrated. A Christ-centered faith does not mean pitting Jesus against Scripture. Similarly, a high view of Scripture does not mean removing Jesus from the center of our apostolic faith.” (see Bird’s full post here, emphasis added)

This entry was posted in Andy Stanley, Michael F. Bird and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Michael F. Bird on Denny Burk, Andy Stanley and Jesus vs the Bible

  1. Craig Benno says:

    He is a smart cookie Michael Bird. Thanks for linking to it. I too also find myself arguing that Christ is the centre of our faith, and not the Scriptures, which are authoritative for our faith.

    • TC says:

      Yes, indeed! I thought his comparison between the BFM1963 and BFM2000 is where this sympathy thing coming in respect to Denny Burk, a Southern Baptist. You should give McKnight’s post a read too.

      • Craig Benno says:

        I am glad you encouraged me to read that also. I was going to do so later, when I had some more time…(reality is I prob’s wouldn’t have) I like McKnight’s take on it and totally agree with his position.

        I think his observation about Paul was outstanding. In many ways in some sectors of evangelicalism, the canon is the first 3 chapters of Genesis and the rest of Paul’s letters – no matter how much its cried the whole of Scripture.

  2. TC says:

    I’m glad you took the time to read it now. As a seasoned biblical scholar, I believe McKnight, while coming to the defense of Stanley in a way, also showed up, as you correctly point out, much of what is wrong with some sectors of evangelicalism. Yep!

  3. Scott says:

    I thought Burk’s 2 posts were off a bit on a) the centrality of our faith, b) his continued use of the qualifier ‘only’ in regards to Scripture being the only way we know of God’s salvation and c) failing to recognise the much more organic formation of Scripture and decision on a canon. It is an expected response from a more conservative evangelical. But it simply fails in many respects.

Leave a Reply

