Mark Driscoll answers Common Questions about the Spiritual Gifts

“So, we agree with the Cessationists that yes, certain gifts, at least, they’re going to cease. They’re going to cease,” added Driscoll. “Where we disagree with the Cessationists and we agree with the Continuationists is when they cease. We believe that all of the gifts continue until one very important transitionary moment in the history of the world.”

He continued, “So, when do these gifts cease? When? When Jesus comes back, when we see him face to face. So the Cessationists are right: certain gifts will come to an end. But the Cessationists are wrong: the end has not yet come. And the Continuationists are right: all the gifts continue until we see him face to face, until Jesus comes again.”  More here…

While agreeing with cessationists like John MacArthur when certain spiritual gifts cease, Mark Driscoll, with his interpretation of 1 Corinthians 13, believes supernatural spiritual gifts will come to an end at the eschaton, the return of Christ and the consummation of all things.

According to Driscoll, “the perfect” of 1 Corinthians 13:10 is Jesus himself.

(I’m neither a cessationist nor a continuationist.  I’m one who is simply open to the activities of God in his world)

This entry was posted in Cessationism, Continuationist, Healing, John MacArthur, Mark Driscoll, Miracles, Pentecostals, Speaking in Tongues, Spiritual Gifts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mark Driscoll answers Common Questions about the Spiritual Gifts

  1. Lon says:

    as a former pentecostal, I’m stuck in “I don’t know” land. Cessationism seems hard to believe. But on the other hand, I cannot say that I have personally seen or heard anything of a miraculous gift nature (as claimed by pentecostals) — in my 20 years of being a pentecostal. Pentecostals are prone to see the miraculous (and sometimes the demonic) everywhere. As for tongues, I don’t think the glossolalia practiced by pentecostals (like me formerly) is the the gift we read of in Acts or Corinthians. Bottom line: I spent 20 years in the movement that claimed to be the modern revival and continuation of New Testament gifts — and didn’t find it there.

    • TC says:

      I greatly value this perspective from a former Pentecostal.

    • Jon Hughes says:

      Lon,

      Like TC, I really appreciate your post. As a new believer, I was told that I should be speaking in tongues and doing this, that and the other – but try as I could, it didn’t happen. I felt awful and lacking in my faith. I don’t move in those circles any more, but what you write above carries a lot of weight.

      • Lon says:

        Thanks Jon. It was a tough transition for me since I came to Christ in a Pentecostal church and was a Pentecostal pastor. Pentecostals are trained to expect the miraculous at any moment, and they either see it readily (self-dillusion, IMO) or don’t, which leads to disillusion. I don’t have a good answer for why we don’t see more of the miraculous and supernatural, but pretending it’s there when it isn’t is dangerous.

        Btw – you may be interested in this: http://averageus.com/2012/10/23/why-i-left-pentecostalism/

        Feel free to tweet or share if you find it helpful.

  2. Simon says:

    It is a tricky issue. You did have Fathers like John Chrysostom who expressed something like cessationism. But this was not at all a universal position in the Church. I think the right stance is TC’s one. We should not put God in a box. And cessationism seems to do this.

  3. Todd Beal says:

    Absolutely, TC. Well said!

Leave a Reply

