This Is Your Brain on Coffee

I’m quickly reminded of your brain on that other stuff (you know what I mean!).  At any rate, we are here to talk about the effects of good ol’ coffee on the human brain.  It’s already working, for I’m about to quote from the New York Times:

For hundreds of years, coffee has been one of the two or three most popular beverages on earth. But it’s only recently that scientists are figuring out that the drink has notable health benefits. In one large-scale epidemiological study from last year, researchers primarily at the National Cancer Institute parsed health information from more than 400,000 volunteers, ages 50 to 71, who were free of major diseases at the study’s start in 1995. By 2008, more than 50,000 of the participants had died. But men who reported drinking two or three cups of coffee a day were 10 percent less likely to have died than those who didn’t drink coffee, while women drinking the same amount had 13 percent less risk of dying during the study. It’s not clear exactly what coffee had to do with their longevity, but the correlation is striking.

Other recent studies have linked moderate coffee drinking — the equivalent of three or four 5-ounce cups of coffee a day or a single venti-size Starbucks — with more specific advantages: a reduction in the risk of developing Type 2 diabetes, basal cell carcinoma (the most common skin cancer), prostate cancer, oral cancer and breast cancer recurrence.  (Entire post here)

Occasionally I’ll skip a day or two of coffee drinking, now see I’ll have to seriously rethink that (and so much for that conservative activist and evangelical’s call for the boycott of Starbucks). 😉

This entry was posted in Coffee and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to This Is Your Brain on Coffee

  1. Jon Hughes says:

    TC,

    You have the gift of encouragement. I shall endeavour to persevere in drinking delicious coffee 🙂

  2. Colin says:

    Nothing quite like the smell and taste of fresh coffee. I guess I have upped the proportion of tea to coffee in recent years. Not quite such high caffiene content large quantities of which boosts adreneline and hence aggravates my Essential Tremor. Larger quantities of wine (ie alcohol) reduce it but I am certainly not going down that road!

  3. Simon says:

    Long live coffee! Everything in creation is utterly good. I simply don’t understand the mindset of those who would seek to ban the use of coffee and other beverages.

  4. Simon says:

    As for Starbucks, I’m sure there are a number of very good boutique cafes in the States that you can visit. I’m not really a fan of their coffee to be honest. And if you’re talking moderation, then definitely Starbucks is out, because their cup sizes are enormous. No need to formally boycott Starbucks on some ideological ground. There must be much better places to get coffee anyway!!

    • TC says:

      Simon, I’m sorry that we even have to extend our disagreements to coffee, for I’m down with Starbucks, coffee, man. 😀

  5. Jon Hughes says:

    If you’re ever in the U.K., “Costa Coffee” and “Caffe Nero” do better coffee than Starbucks.

  6. Simon says:

    TC, I currently live in one of the world’s best coffee producing countries – PNG. I can tell there’s nothing better than a home brew with the best beans 🙂

    • TC says:

      Simon, good comeback. I tend to sample coffee here and there. I rarely refuse a cup, a sign of politeness, if you will. But I do have my preference.

      But I believe you’re more of an authority on coffee than myself, but not sure about theology. 😉

Leave a Reply

