Archbishop Desmond Tutu, You are wrong about God!

Speaking recently at the United Nation’s launch of its “Free & Equal” campaign to promote fair treatment of LGBT persons, former archbishop and South African anti-apartheid activist Desmond Tutu had the following to say:

“I would refuse to go to a homophobic heaven. No, I would say sorry, I mean I would much rather go to the other place… I would not worship a God who is homophobic and that is how deeply I feel about this.” –Archbishop Desmond Tutu,  more here

With all due respect former Archbishop, I believe you are confusing the biblical God with some of his so-called followers.

This entry was posted in Homosexuality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Archbishop Desmond Tutu, You are wrong about God!

  1. What are you saying, TC? Is it that God isn’t homophobic?

    I am with the Archbishop, though. If the homophobes were right about God, I would not want to be in his Heaven. I don’t think God is against equal marriage, either.

  2. David Beirne says:

    Never have understood why seeing homosexuality as sin qualifies as a phobia. If you don’t like a liberal or conservative platform, are you a “demophobe” or “republiphobe”? I’d like to say something about Tutu’s lack of theological acumen in his statement,but I fear what label might be hung on me for disagreeing.

    • TC says:

      David, it’s a case where one’s emotions have set side the plain text. Great points. By the way, you have made salient what I implied.

  3. Simon says:

    Still TC, Tutu’s point remains. I fear many fundamentalist Christians really do hold hatred in their hearts against homosexuals. That is his point I think. I don’t think he’s confusing God with the god of the fundamentalists. Rather he’s making the same point you make in the last sentence. The god of the fundamentalists really isn’t worth worshipping.

Leave a Reply

