Another Study Bible: The Jeremiah Study Bible

The-Jeremiah-Study-Bible--LargeA few days ago I posted on the MacArthur Study Bible in the controversial updated 2011 NIV Bible.  Now another Study Bible is getting ready to flood the market in November 2013, in the New King James Version: it’s The Jeremiah Study Bible (not the Old Testament prophet, but a popular pastor and author out of California).

According to the publisher,

The Jeremiah Study Bible focuses on three simple things: “What does the Bible say, what does it mean, and what does it mean for you?” Comprehensive in scope yet easy to understand, The Jeremiah Study Bible is a 2,200+ page, one-of-a-kind study tool that includes:

  • Unique introductions to each book of the Bible
  • 8,000 individual study notes with both insightful and practical content
  • Hundreds of enriching sidebars with word studies, historical insights and geographical and archaeological information
  • More than 60 full-page articles exploring the essential themes of the Christian life
  • Thorough cross-reference system that guides readers through the Bible
  • Links to additional online digital resources, including original videos featuring Dr. Jeremiah introducing each book of the Bible and a virtual library featuring live sermon clips, historical photos, helpful illustrations and further study helps highlighting specific Scripture passages
  • Colorful maps, charts and tables
  • Teacher’s topical index
  • 80+ page general concordance”

I have about two or three Study Bibles, and they are all in storage.  I have never been too crazy about them.  But I know many believers who continued to be enriched and blessed by them.

This entry was posted in David Jeremiah, John MacArthur, NIV Bible 2011, Study Bibles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Another Study Bible: The Jeremiah Study Bible

  1. R. Mansfield says:

    Interesting. I’d be more excited about a study Bible from the perspective of the prophet Jeremiah (no offense to David Jeremiah intended). I’ve heard David Jeremiah once on television, and he was actually pretty good in the message I heard, but I don’t follow him or know much about him. I can’t imagine myself (or anyone) qualified to write authoritatively on every book of the Bible though (again, no offense intended to him).

    I like the cover, though–quite attractive 🙂

    • TC says:

      Rick, I like the cover too. I’ve both read and listened to Dr. Jeremiah over the years. He’s a solid Bible teacher and expositor. I too second your objection. I believe it’s going to be at the popular level.

      • R. Mansfield says:

        More than likely, an editorial team has taken his comments in sermons and other writings over the years and created the 8,000 notes and articles from that body of work. I can’t imagine David Jeremiah himself would sit down and say, “Okay, Genesis 1:1. What can I say here?”

  2. TC says:

    Well, I remember MacArthur talking about how he had to work through the various books of the Bible and how the project reenforced his beliefs. But we’re not talking at the technical here.

    Didn’t Matthew Henry and the Baptist John Gill write entire commentaries of the whole Bible?

    • R. Mansfield says:

      Well, yes because they actually sat down to do that. And maybe David Jeremiah did, too. I could be wrong about his Bible–I was just speculating. I don’t think Matthew Henry’s commentary is written exclusively by him, but I can’t remember now (and am too lazy to look it up). MacArthur has written an entire NT commentary and a number of Bible studies on Old Testament books, so his Bible would be a matter of paring it down a bit.

      • TC says:

        I’m not sure either.

      • Jon Hughes says:

        I believe Matthew Henry’s friends (with the use of his various scrap notes) completed much of the New Testament after his death. I think it was Spurgeon who commented that the difference in quality between what Matthew Henry himself wrote, and what his friends subsequently completed, was noticeable. Going by memory here though.

        As for Study Bibles, I’ve got a few on my shelf too. However, there really does come a point when you no longer want to be spoon-fed someone else’s take on Scripture, and you end up using them less and less. As a new believer, I thought these guys were infallible!

  3. William Sebald says:

    A prophet for profit. This will go well with the same crowd that pays to go on a cruise with such a prophet, while the poor are neglected. So I’m sure it will sell well. “Attack and be victorious.”

Leave a Reply

