The Doctrines of Grace are My Life

“Calvinism is one of the most controversial conversations in Christianity today. In this new video, Pastor John Piper shares why the doctrines of grace have been some of the most precious and practical truths of his ministry…” read more

I remember letting go of the doctrines of grace, commonly called Calvinism, only to re-embrace them (see my The Challenge of Calvinism).

They are all over Scripture.  That’s why!

This entry was posted in Calvinism, John Piper, The Doctrines of Grace and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Doctrines of Grace are My Life

  1. Jon Hughesj says:

    Hi TC,

    I have a love/hate relationship with the system commonly known as Calvinism. It’s only great if you’re one of the elect. There are pessimistic and optimistic Calvinists. I prefer the latter option, which gives due consideration to the ‘universalistic’ passages of Scripture. That’s why a book like Neal Punt’s “A Theology of Inclusivism” is a breath of fresh air from a Reformed perspective; as well as Richard Mouw’s “Calvinism in the Las Vegas Airport”, in which the author speculates about post-mortem opportunities to repent in certain cases.

    The above is a generous kind of Calvinism. One that keeps you from shriveling up and putting on a grey suit, if you know what I mean.

    • Jon Hughesj says:

      Have to say though, I admire John Piper’s undeniable passion for these doctrines, and his resolve to live by them. He walks the walk!

      • TC says:

        Jon, I totally understand. I did a review of Mouw’s book. Yes, I too commend it.

        Regarding Piper, I get his point, if you know what I mean. I know you do: the doctrines of grace have become his life. They are not simply a system for him. They are a worldview. This makes all the difference in the world (no pun intended).

  2. Lon says:

    Yes. I’m often tempted to believe that to NOT agree with the doctrines we commonly call Calvinism is to willfully misread Scripture. Calvinism is one of those things people tell you not to believe and then you open your Bible and find it there plain as day: limited atonement, preservation of the saints, unconditional election, all of it.

  3. Coliin Heath says:

    Just athought. Is thiis an area of paradox. A bit of both/and. After all the strongest Arminian would produce equally robust Biblical arguments.

Leave a Reply

