“What do you think about our Worship?”

As we were the church’s sanctuary, we were approached by one of the leaders of the church, we decided to visit today on our off-Sunday.

Church leader asked my wife (as I was a bit ahead of her, on the way out), “What do you think about our worship”

My wife, “It was different” (meaning, she didn’t like it).

Church leader to my wife (by this time, I walked back to where they were), “What do you mean by different?”

My wife to church leader, “The praise and worship was Kirk Franklin-like!

We are more laid back.”

Church leader to us (I had joined the conversation by my proximity), “And the speaking in tongue?” (worship leader was speaking in tongues as he was leading praise and worship)

We answered, “Yes.  Not our style.  We also address causally.”

Church leader to us, “We dress casually too” (Church leader had on matching suite and tie, while we were in jeans and the like).

We are able to escape the barrage of questions.  But while on our way home, I said to my wife, “No church should ask its visitors, ‘What do you think about our worship?’  Worship should be between the individual and God and the work of the Holy Spirit on the person’s heart.”

Are they willing to tweak their worship to accommodate us?  What about the next person who visits?

A footnote: we decided to visit this particular church, after two of their members knocked on our door yesterday (I was out with the kids.  My wife was at home).  My wife wanted to visit them on our off-Sunday.

They said they were nondenominational, but their worship style turned out to be Pentecostal in worship expression.

This entry was posted in Worship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “What do you think about our Worship?”

  1. Jon Hughes says:

    TC,

    In the West, we’ve seemingly got nothing better to do than compare worship. Is our ‘product’ better than the ‘competitor’ around the corner? I don’t think that this was so much of a factor in the early Church (and other parts of the world today) when persecution and martyrdom was a reality.

  2. Colin says:

    TC
    “Worship should be between the individual and God and the work of the Holy Spirit on the person’s heart.”

    Your whole comment to your wife resonates but this bit in particular. A few months ago I offered comment on the tradition of Choral Evensong in some parts of the Anglican communion. At that time I was reflecting on what worship might actually be. As you suggest to Jon, it needs to be focused on Jesus. And to draw on John 4, “in spirit and truth”.

    I freely admit I lean towards an element of structure, and increasingly in the last few years have sought more silence and contemplation. But I sense that personal engagement is central – whether we are singing modern worship songs for half an hour or more, listening to sung psalms and bible readings, allowing the Spirit to speak to us through them, or waiting for Him to speak to us in the silences of a Taize service.

Leave a Reply

