Holy Communion is about Communion

After gathered worship today, my wife said out loud that she would like to speak with the pastor.

Remember -communion serviceI asked, “About what?”

“The Communion.  It was so impersonal,” she said.

You see, the pastor toward the end of the gathered worship pointed to his left and said that the Lord’s Supper is there for anyone who would like to observe the Lord’s Supper.  I noticed some people observed while the most of us did not.  In a way, the pastor had taken communion out of Holy Communion.

Up to that point, we had all prayed, sang, give, and did everything else together.

While I look forward to observing the Lord’s Supper (as readers of this blog know), I did not today, concluding that it was too impersonal (I had no idea my wife felt the same way).

As we were making our way to our vehicle, I told my wife that I knew the reason why the Holy Communion was so impersonal.  She insisted that I did not know why.

I retorted, “I know why.  Here is why: They have a weak and poor view (theology) of Holy Communion” (my wife agreed).  No one who has a high view of the Lord’s Table makes it so impersonal.”

Clearly texts like 1 Corinthians 10:14-17 and 11:17-34 teach this point: Holy Communion is about communion.  Too many of our local churches have a poor view of the Lord’s Table.  After much reflection on these 1 Corinthian texts, I’m convinced that a proper theology of the Lord’s Supper as communion would not only aid our relationship vertically, with the Triune God, but horizontally, with one another.

My wife also said, “The way the Lord’s Supper was done was not an opportunity to break bread together.”

This entry was posted in Holy Communion, Lord's Supper, Lord's Table and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Holy Communion is about Communion

  1. Craig Benno says:

    Breaking bread together. Amen.

  2. David Loving says:

    Well said. My mother’s church actually had communion set up in a spare room down the hall from the sanctuary so people could come and go. I found this somewhat disturbing, but didn’t say anything at the time. Communion, to my way of thinking requires community.

  3. Colin says:

    When I was training for Reader Ministry a clergyman I knew lent me one of his older books on how Cranmer had developed his liturgy and theology of liturgy in moving from RC practice at the time through to what finally emerged as the ~Book of Common Prayer. One point the author made was that he removed the Mass and restored the Communion. In other words the sense of God’s people gathering together around their Saviour’s table. Seems to be an expression of your passion here. And it is something I often specifically pray for us all when our ministry team pre service prayer gathering precedes a Communion.

  4. TC Robinson says:

    Craig,

    That’s what it’s about!

    Colin,

    Yes, along with many other Baptists, I continue to marvel at the genius of the Book of Common Prayer. It’s about him and his body, not the individual.

Leave a Reply

