LifeWay Stops Selling Mark Driscoll Books, which raises the question?

LifeWay Christian Resources, the publishing arm of America’s largest Protestant denomination, has pulled Mark Driscoll’s books from its website and more than 180 stores nationwide.  Read more…

Which raises the question: What about the books of a modalist like TD Jakes? I still see his books at the countless LifeWay stores I’ve gone into.

I don’t know about this.

This entry was posted in Mark Driscoll, TD Jakes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to LifeWay Stops Selling Mark Driscoll Books, which raises the question?

  1. Jon Hughes says:

    I don’t like it either. It’s inconsistent, unsavoury, and an overreaction.

    • Jon Hughes says:

      What’s wrong with his books now that wasn’t wrong with them last week? I don’t like witch hunts, especially when it’s a case of merely jumping on the bandwagon.

      • David Beirne says:

        Agreed. Commercial concern$ vs. Spiritual concerns. Spiritually minded vs. carnally minded. I speak of the Christian book/music/store industries. Sometimes our bedfellows are uncomfortable if not downright strange.

  2. TC Robinson says:

    “It’s inconsistent, unsavoury, and an overreaction.”

  3. Craig Benno says:

    I ask the question. Is right doctrine more important than right living?

    • TC Robinson says:

      Craig, I agree with what your question is saying, but help me to see how it applies to LifeWay’s decision.

      • Craig Benno says:

        Within the framework of the discussion about Jakes, I’m not aware of any books he has written where he pushes the modalist view. A few years ago at a Sydney conference he was asked about his views on the Trinity and replied he believed in it.

        He shared how it was true that he become a Christian within the Oneness pentecostal movement and it was there he encountered Christ for the first time. But like many other Christians, his beliefs changed over his journey of life. (Just the same as your and mine beliefs do.)

        Regarding the Mark Driscoll saga – its time MD was held accountable for his dubious practices. And this should be the same for anyone who lives a dubious lifestyle. If Jakes was living a dubious lifestyle.. perhaps then we have the right to call him to account also.

        Personally, I think MD has it wrong on much of his theology. But then again, I believe that is intrinsic to much of reformed theology..And most Calvinists believe the same about me and my Wesleyan beliefs. Here I think the wisdom of James takes precedence.

        You tell me you believe…good. I will show you what I believe through my lifestyle…for even the demons believe.

  4. TC Robinson says:

    Craig, I truly like your response. If indeed Jakes is no modalist, then I concur. Regarding MD, I believe the action taken should serve him as a wake up call.

    • Craig Benno says:

      Thanks T.C. I have never read anything that Jakes has written. Nor did I attend the conference he spoke at in Sydney. I did enjoy reading MD’s book Vintage Jesus and think as an author he has much to offer.

      I pray he will grow in wisdom and humility through this season of life.

      • TC Robinson says:

        Craig, I’ve been following MD’s ministry for years now and truly believe that his personality fits well with the secularism of a Seattle. But conduct which continues to dishonor the name of Christ cannot afford to go unchecked. Yes, prayer for growth in wisdom and humility.

  5. Jon Hughes says:

    From what I’ve seen of Driscoll, he’s a fighter. What do you think he’s going to do with his back up against the wall? Surely things could have been done without making it so public. Now every gloating, self-righteous, self-appointed moral-high-grounder is enjoying the opportunity to pass judgement under the guise of ‘spiritual concern’ for the body of Christ. There’s a lot of jealousy concerning Driscoll. He’s clearly gifted in many ways, albeit raw around the edges. And I say this as someone who would undoubtedly find him annoying having to sit under his ministry, and fully aware of some of the troubling accusations from ex-members of his church. But this is hardly something new, or unique to his situation. There are a lot of other church leaders out there who could have come under similar scrutiny. Why Driscoll? Why now? He’s been made some kind of scapegoat in my view.

    • nwroadrat says:

      He’s under scrutiny because behavior from him and many in leadership are considered abusive, controlling, manipulative and unethical. I do not know about MD, however I have experienced MH leadership. Not all, but many of them, you wonder how in the world they could do to people what they do. Fighter’s yes, but sucker punching gets you a reputation.

      • Jon Hughes says:

        Yes, but is this anything new?

      • nwroadrat says:

        The bullying and retaliatory behavior is starting to disturb other groups. I don’t know about new, but its not normal. I suspect we’ll have another round of stories on a new incident(s) before the year is out.

  6. Simon says:

    I think that the evangelical community sees a lot of the bad that MD accentuates in themselves, and they are terrified of it. Hence this reaction. Honestly, there is not much difference between the domineering style of John MacArthur and that of driscoll. Nor is there much difference in the brash approach to ministry seen in chandler to that of driscoll. We all know that the theology between these guys is basically identical. But broadly speaking, there is not much difference in the overall ethos of all north American evangelicals – Reformed or otherwise. When someone as crude as driscoll pops up they all like to think that he does not represent what they are about. They want to distance themselves from the embarrassing things they see in him that are every bit part of their own culture. Does anyone really think that Johnny mac is more accountable in his church than driscoll? Does anyone think that MacArthur is on substantially less coin than driscoll? This whole episode really isn’t about driscoll as much as it is about the state of American evangelicalism.

  7. TC Robinson says:

    “This whole episode really isn’t about driscoll as much as it is about the state of American evangelicalism.”

  8. Jon Hughes says:

    TC,

    I don’t know whether you’ve watched the video clip yet from Mark Driscoll on the link below, regarding his stepping down for a time of reflection, etc. It’s quite moving, and I hope and pray that he comes back stronger and with lessons learned. He’s too gifted and has too much to offer not to.

    http://www.religionnews.com/2014/08/24/mark-driscoll-step-down-mars-hill-elders-review-charges/

    • Craig Benno says:

      Jon, sadly, I read it was for only 6 weeks. I think in light of the seriousness of the situation, it should be at least 6 months or more.

      • Jon Hughes says:

        Craig,

        If you watch the clip, Driscoll says specifically that it will be for a *minimum* of six weeks. I suspect it will be much longer. Even the way this has been reported shows how things can get lost in translation.

  9. Craig Benno says:

    Jon, you are right. He did say for a minimum of 6 weeks. Thats like saying I am going away for a holiday and will be back. It’s my experience, that there is no way, you can even think there is a possibility of coming back in 6 weeks, after the years of abuse and neglect.

    • nwroadrat says:

      This could be big, but not the Driscoll part. I was thinking it needs to be more than a Driscoll focus. They need to clean house, badly. And there it was. Here, “…other elders planning to resign or considering it.” However its almost too late on the local level. The verbal and mental knife fighting in some of the satellite groups, you’ll never pray it all away and put it back in the closet.

  10. nwroadrat says:

    I hate to say it, but it was “too late on the local level…”. It’s now in the national news and MH is having to close locations.

    http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2014/09/14/another-mega-church-implodes.html

Leave a Reply

