How the New Living Translation Bible Surprised Me

On occassion I would look to BibleGateway for the Scripture I’m about to post to my FaceBook account.  The New Living Translation (NLT) was the last Bible translation I last used, so it was still the “preferred”one.  The Holman Christian Standard Bible was the version I had in mind

But the Scripture passage I had in mind, Exodus 3:14-15, I didn’t think the NLT would capture the text the way I wanted it.  I was looking for the tetragrammaton (YHWH) to be rendered “Yahweh” (so the Holman Christian Standard Bible was my first choice).  However, I decided to see how the NLT rendered the passage, and it surprised me.

14 God replied to Moses, “I am who i am. Say this to the people of Israel: I am has sent me to you.” 15 God also said to Moses, “Say this to the people of Israel: Yahweh, the God of your ancestors—the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob—has sent me to you.

This is my eternal name,
my name to remember for all generations. (emphasis added)

The New Living Translation of the Bible was updated again last year, 2013. See: Holy Bible. New Living Translation copyright© 1996, 2004, 2007, 2013 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

And now with the 2007 and 2013 updates, it’s becoming something of a median type translation, closer to an NIV, while keeping that dynamic edge to it.

This entry was posted in Bible Translations, New Living Translation, Tetragrammaton and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How the New Living Translation Bible Surprised Me

  1. Didn’t know it was updated again! I’ll have to see if there are lists of the changes… Or do you know of such a list?

  2. TC Robinson says:

    Chuck, you’re welcome, my friend.

Leave a Reply

