The Audacity of Tim Cook: Human Sexuality, Being Gay, and the Question of God

i-am-also-an-apple-shareholder-and-i-have-also-written-a-letter-to-tim-cookWhile in a waiting room watching CNBC’s Fast Money, it was announced that Tim Cook, Apple’s CEO, had something akin to breaking news to share.

While I have never denied my sexuality, I haven’t publicly acknowledged it either, until now. So let me be clear: I’m proud to be gay, and I consider being gay among the greatest gifts God has given me” (source, emphasis added).

Up to that point, I had never heard anyone framed the matter the way Tim Cook has: “… and I consider being gay among the greatest gifts God has given me.”  The Apple CEO said that he was inspired by the following question from Civil Rights leader Martin Luther King, Jr: “Life’s most persistent question is, ‘What are you doing for others?'”

“I often challenge myself with that question, and I’ve come to realize that my desire for personal privacy has been holding me back from doing something more important.  That’s what has led me to today.”

God and Human Sexuality.  As a conservative evangelical, I believe God has defined what proper and acceptable human sexuality looks like in the sacred Scriptures of the Judeo-Christian tradition: a man and a woman in holy matrimony (Genesis 2:18-25).

Conservative evangelicals, who consider the sacred Scriptures as the Word of God, believe that this is the norm and anything different is a departure from this norm.

Being Gay and the Gifts of God.  Tim Cook is a brilliant man for sure.  I do admire his drive for diversity in the workplace, and leading the way is this regard.

Now, while Tim Cook gets to ultimately call the shots as CEO of the global brand that is Apple, he surely doesn’t get to call the shots when it comes to human sexuality.  Neither do I.  That’s God’s sphere.  God’s domain.

And yes, human sexuality is among the greatest gifts from God.  But should we include being gay as among the greatest gifts from God?

I have nothing but love for those in the gay community.  But they are wrong about homosexuality being among the greatest gifts from God.

The Question.  At some point, shouldn’t we talk about the entrance of sin into God’s good creation and how it has corrupted everything that God has called good, including human sexuality?  I believe we must.  We should.  How could we not?

At any rate, I believe the ability to ask questions and have honest dialogue about ourselves and the world around is among the greatest gifts God has given us as a human race.

This entry was posted in Homosexuality, Martin Luther King Jr and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Audacity of Tim Cook: Human Sexuality, Being Gay, and the Question of God

  1. Kevin S. says:

    It’s good to see my fellow blogger again. I’ve out of action. Anyway, I was surprised to hear such a high profile CEO come out of the closet. Especially being that I love apple products now. God’s intention for creation is fallen. As a society, we will have to live with a fallen society even though it’s not God’s ideal. I’ll struggled with how to deal with this issue in a practical ministry perspective–love the sinner but hate the sin. Same can go for our many other kinds of sins.

    • TC Robinson says:

      Kevin, yes, it’s good to be back at it, something I really love. What surprised me wasn’t so much the coming out, but his expression that “being gay is among the greatest gifts God has given me.”

      I do,however, agree that as we move forward we will have to learn how to minister in love, in these times.

      • David Beirne says:

        Yes, that “greatest gift”–I wonder if this will start a trend as culture tries to further “normalize” homosexuality. By normalize, I mean make accepted in mainstream.

Leave a Reply

