Baptists and Holy Week

It’s Holy Monday.

Yesterday was Palm Sunday.

While I admire many aspects of the Baptist tradition, when it comes to the church calendar, I personally think Baptists, in general, are woeful. It’s time for Baptists to quit hiding behind “No creed, but the Bible,” when in fact they have creeds of their own.

Baptists are all over Christmas and Easter.  What of the rest?!

At any rate, I continue to delight in my lenten readings and (along with millions of Christ followers, from various Christian traditions around the world) look forward, with great joy, to Easter Sunday.

But one day at a time…

This entry was posted in Baptists, Easter, Holy Week, Palm Sunday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baptists and Holy Week

  1. Colin Heath says:

    In the Baptist Church where I was brought up, Palm Sunday did get noticed but never Ascension Day or Ash Wednesday. For Palm Sunday and Ascension Day, there are, after all, clear biblical pictures if what was happening. Some of the traditional Reformed churches in Scotland would not celebrate Christmas Day.

    When I met Christ – in the CoE – I grew to appreciate the way the calendar can point us to the progression of revelation and the cyclical nature of time – the seasons.

    That said there are features of our Calendar these days which puzzle me. In particular why some of us make a thing of Passion Sunday – the week before Palm Sunday. I would have said Passiontide effectively begins on Palm Sunday. Then Tom Wright in “For All the Saints” suggests that Christ the King pulls the year out of shape, in way repeating Ascension. And also that the separation of All Saints and All Souls does not really fit biblical reality. I admit I preached as much from my own heart before I knew his views. To some extent I wonder if we have picked up on some, at times relatively recent practices from the wider “Catholic” church without really thinking through the associated doctrines.

    But then in Romans 14, Paul suggest that the noting of days as significant is a matter of conscience. So I should not criticise the traditional Scottish churches – and they should not criticise the rest of us. Just that for myself I do like to see such days being well rooted in biblical events and teaching.

    Meanwhile I have been journeying with Diocesan Lenten material.

    • TC Robinson says:

      Romans 14 is always a good place to start on these matters. But I should think that a church would be more spiritual enriched from something as the church calendar.

      Yes, I too crave a wider fellowship among the various denominations, though not at the expense of their own identies and what make them who they are. But that communion of the saints, across the ages, gets me every time.

  2. Colin Heath says:

    Yes, I too crave a wider fellowship among the various denominations, though not at the expense of their own identies and what make them who they are.

    Indeed. Since being licensed as a Reader in 2004, I have been privileged to be able to preach and/or lead worship in many different churches, both other denominations including Baptist, Elim and Nazarene, plus other local CoE parishes, from Evangelical through Broad to near the Highest of the High. All different, with their unique identity and I have loved and appreciated aspects of them all. For example I find there is something rather special in a periodically joining in the drama and transcendence of a solemn sung Eucharist, with its smells bells and colour, even though I do not myself run with all the theology the congregation may themselves be expressing.

    • TC Robinson says:

      Colin,
      I’ll be out of town for Easter and actually planning on attending an Anglican church on Easter Sunday. As something of a liturgical Baptist, I’ve decided against a Baptist church this Sunday for an Anglican. Something about the liturgy I like. 😉

Leave a Reply

