Parents’ Faith and Kids Communion

One of my blogging buddies has an interesting piece on communion and kids (see here).  I find myself struggling with his approach.

On the subject of baptism, while it’s not clear whether he opposes paedobaptism or not, when it comes to his own children, he has opted for a credobaptist position.  And his children–who have not expressed faith in the Lord Jesus and requested baptism–receive communion.

[P]rior to baptism, the children share our (their parents’) communion. So when the bread comes around, I tear off some for myself, ask the kids if they understand what it’s about, and then tear off portions of my bread for them. When the grape juice comes around, I take a cup for myself, ask the kids if they understand it, and then give them a little from my cup. I think this nicely illustrates that they are nourished by their parents’ faith. If they get baptised, then they’ll take their own communion” (emphasis added).

My Struggles: First, I believe my blogging buddy has something of a covenant approach to the Lord’s Supper going on here (please correct me if I’m wrong).  However, the same is not true for his approach to baptism, which seems to be the logical outcome, for this line of thinking.

Second, I see something akin to paedobaptists’ interpretation of covenant theology once again: “In the mean time, we treat them as Christians, as they draw on and learn from their parents’ faith.”

Simply put, he’s a credobaptist who practices paedocommunion, for the unbaptized, who are also deemed Christians because they share their parents’ faith.

How cryptic?!

This entry was posted in Holy Communion, Infant Baptism, Lord's Supper and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Parents’ Faith and Kids Communion

  1. Hi TC, thanks for your thoughts. From my perspective, I’d say that my kids have always expressed faith in Christ, in an age-appropriate and parent-dependent way (as with most other things kids do). So they join in family prayers, they believe in Jesus, and they understand the basics of the triune God and the work of Christ. We’ve never been waiting for a conversion – conversion from what? But I would also want to make the careful distinction that they don’t take communion themselves; they share in their parents’ communion. For them, baptism will mean a public declaration that it is their faith, not just their parents’ faith. And it’s then that they’ll take communion themselves. But in the mean time I’m trying to heed Jesus’ words, ‘Let the children come to me!’

Leave a Reply

