Book Review: “I Will” by Thom S. Rainer

IWillRainer

  • Hardcover: 128 pages
  • Publisher: B&H Books (July 15, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1433687291

Many thanks to B&H Books for a review copy of Thom S. Rainer’s I Will! Nine Traits of The Outwardly Focused Christian.

An Overview

I Will is something of a sequel to Rainer’s bestseller I Am a Church Member–a book which focused on the attitudes of church members.  I Will is taking that next step from an I-am-a-church-member to an I-will-church-member, where the focus is on actions.

After the introductory chapter, “A Tale of a Joyous Church Member,” Rainer dives in to “Nine Traits of the Outwardly Focused Christian.”  In typical Rainer fashion, each trait is not only illustrated by a ministry experience but by research as well.

Each chapter ends with “Points to Ponder,” which are four to five questions, to further study and reflection for the individual reader or small group.

Critique

I Will is a solid read.  It is bold and challenging.  In fact, I think that not only church members, but especially church leaders should read it.  If we’re going to really change the landscape and culture of the church in America, it begins will those in leadership position.  Church members should and MUST demand and expect more from them–shepherds of God’s people and NOT CEOs, trying to run some successful organization.  It’s a call to 1 Peter 5:1ff.

Rainer’s I Will can go a long way in correcting some the missteps of the church in America.  According to Rainer, there’s a difference between Christianity and Churchianity, much of what we see in local gatherings across the US.

Conclusion

Both church leaders and their members should read I Will.  If church leaders want their members to move from “I Am” to “I Will,” then they must create a culture that will make this happen.  I Will is source that such leaders can certainly draw from.

This entry was posted in Thom S. Rainer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: “I Will” by Thom S. Rainer

  1. nwroadrat says:

    I think you’ve enticed me with this book. In another review it said it was a call for attendees to get more involved and be the change in their church. Modern church goers getting involved scares me a bit…

    • TC Robinson says:

      It’s a good read. Modern churchgoers only scares us because we’ve replaced biblical Christianity with a cultural one. Christian leadership needs to get back to the basics.

Leave a Reply

