“Today I Quit Being a Christian”

Anne-Rice_Author-Photo_Credit-Matthias-Scheer_sm“For those who care, and I understand if you don’t: Today I quit being a Christian. I’m out. I remain committed to Christ as always but not to being ‘Christian’ or to being part of Christianity. It’s simply impossible for me to ‘belong’ to this quarrelsome, hostile, disputatious, and deservedly infamous group. For ten years, I’ve tried. I’ve failed. I’m an outsider. My conscience will allow nothing else…

“As I said below, I quit being a Christian. I’m out. In the name of Christ, I refuse to be anti-gay. I refuse to be anti-feminist. I refuse to be anti-artificial birth control. I refuse to be anti-Democrat. I refuse to be anti-secular humanism. I refuse to be anti-science. I refuse to be anti-life. In the name of Christ, I quit Christianity and being Christian. Amen….

“My faith in Christ is central to my life. My conversion from a pessimistic atheist lost in a world I didn’t understand, to an optimistic believer in a universe created and sustained by a loving God is crucial to me. But following Christ does not mean following His followers. Christ is infinitely more important than Christianity and always will be, no matter what Christianity is, has been, or might become. –emphasis added

The above was posted by Anne Rice, author of Interview with a Vampire, on her Facebook page back in 2010.

What Miss Rice expressed back in 2010 was really nothing new.  Others have made similar distinctions.

This entry was posted in Anne Rice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Today I Quit Being a Christian”

  1. Jon Hughes says:

    I totally sympathize. Wasn’t it Barth who said that in the light of Jesus Christ all human religion, including our Christian religiousness, stands under the judgment of God? I don’t know whether Anne Rice would find inspiration from Bonhoeffer’s ‘religionless Christianity’.

    As for me, I continue to be a Christian because I actually enjoy being “quarrelsome” and “disputatious”. 😉

  2. thislamp says:

    I wonder if Rice’s sentiments are still the same. If I remember correctly, she was Roman Catholic. I wonder if the denominational aspect had any impact. In other words, if she had aligned herself with a different group, would her decision have been any different in the end?

  3. Kevin Sam says:

    I sympathize with Anne. Sometimes, i feel the same way about the church too.

    • TC Robinson says:

      Rick,
      I think she would have had similar sentiments if she were in another denomination. But you could be right?

      Kevin,
      Yeah, the Bride is not perfect, still awaiting her glorification.

Leave a Reply

