Tim Keller on Preaching: Wonderful Author but Poor Practitioner

kellerTimothy “Tim” Keller, pastor of Redeemer Presbyterian Church, NY, has a new book out on preaching.

Those who have read Keller’s works know that he is a very insightful author.  His works are not rushed. They are very thoughtful and well-researched, in my opinion.

But as a preacher, a practitioner, I find Keller wanting.  He has substance.  But he lacks that fire.

At best he is monotone.

While I have no problem reading Keller, I can’t say the same for listening to Keller.  Even D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones had that fire about him.

This entry was posted in Preaching, Tim Keller and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tim Keller on Preaching: Wonderful Author but Poor Practitioner

  1. Lon Hetrick says:

    LOL – “Ears” of the beholder. I find him one of the most helpful and challenging preachers I’ve heard. In fact, I compare the excellence of my own pastor’s pulpit skills to Keller’s, who is generally lauded as a speaker. As a former pentecostal I’m a bit “burned out” on fire (pun intended). I want the gospel itself, not the delivery, to stoke the flames. I would be interested in listening to a sample sermon of your favorite preacher. Maybe send me a link if you think of it. Lon 🙂

  2. Craig Benno says:

    Yes, there is something about the fire. Tozer also comes to mind.

Leave a Reply

