Liberty University President sends the wrong Message about Guns

“If some of those people in that community center had what I have in my back pocket right now…,”

“I’ve always thought that if more good people had concealed-carry permits, then we could end those Muslims before they walked in and killed them.”

“I just wanted to take this opportunity to encourage all of you to get your permit. We offer a free course. Let’s teach them a lesson if they ever show up here.”

Liberty University is the largest Protestant Christian university in the world.  And the institution’s president in calling on others, Christians and non-Christians to arm themselves.

He singles out Muslims.

I don’t know about you, but I find this speech sickening, disturbing, and quite frankly, hateful.

Jerry Falwell, Jr. should be repenting, right now, in sackcloth and ashes.

How is arming myself with a conceal weapon a part of the solution?

Is Mr. Falwell, a Baptist, talking an American version of the crusades right here at home?

Shame on you, Mr. Falwell.

This entry was posted in Muslims and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Liberty University President sends the wrong Message about Guns

  1. Lon Hetrick says:

    Amen. My wife told me about this this morning. This is an embarrassingly non-christian perspective.

  2. nwroadrat says:

    I agree that good people with firearms is better than being outnumbered by bad people. Gun control works about as well as restricting access to harmful drugs. However, his presentation was poor. I would have kept the focus on people with ill intent and not generalize all Muslims. I suspect he just meant those who mean harm, but with his choice of words the interpretation is up in the air. Many public places are gun free zones, especially Colleges. That makes them easy targets, except for Liberty now. If he hasn’t already, he should clarify his comments. But I feel he wasted an opportunity.

  3. TC Robinson says:

    Lon,
    It is.

    Yes, a wasted opportunity, indeed.
    Reckless.

Leave a Reply

