My Conversation with a Southern Baptist

A few days ago, I was asked about my denomination persuasion.  I told my colleague that I was transitioning from Southern Baptist to Presbyterian (PCA).

The follow up question was WHY.

My response was because of my understanding of covenant theology and also the need for covenant baptism (infant baptism, if you like).

His reply was magical, “Of all things, you left Southern Baptist over infant baptism?!”

“Yes.”

He proceeded to give reasons why he holds to believer’s baptism and rejects infant baptism.  I saw the obvious holes in his defense of a believer only baptism, but I shied away from any further discussion on the matter.

This entry was posted in Covenant Baptism, Covenant Theology, Infant Baptism, Miscellanies, Southern Baptist and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

