Aging to the glory of God

Every year I’m getting older.

Now I’m experiencing physical changes due to aging–I’m not as agile as I used to be.  I really have to watch what I eat, especially when it’s late.

After a run, more noticeable aches and pains.

And no, it’s not just in my head.  My aging body knows the difference.

Now I’m working on a better perspective as I age–aging to the glory of God.  Paul says, “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God” (1 Cor. 10:31).  I’ll add aging in the “whatever you do.”

As I age, my perspective on life changes.  It’s the truth of 1 Corinthians 13:11.  Or as they say, the closer I get to the grave (in the perspective of aging), my mind tends to turn to more eternal matters.

I may not be able to enjoy the advantages of a young body anymore, but I’m learning that there’s so much more to life than youth, and that I can actually enjoy aging–with a mind set on aging to the glory of God.

This entry was posted in Aging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Aging to the glory of God

  1. Pingback: Growing older – gracefully. | Trinitarian Dance

  2. Colin says:

    Earlier this year I turned 21 for the third time – think about it!! ( I was around in our Coronation year albeit stuffed in the pram in the garden for the great event ) . And I am much blessed in that I was able financially to take an early retirement package 5 years ago, and enjoy a new existence from a younger age than many.

    I certainly have more aches and pains – especially the weakness in the lower back , weakened ligament to vertebrae 3 so the osteopath said, or something like that. While my hair is still largely its original sandy colour, it is a lot thinner towards the back of the top. Being 6ft tall that is not immediately obvious. And I certainly don’t have the energy I once had, partly affected by the Beta Blocker I take to mitigate my Essential Tremor. Having all 4 grandchildren, the youngest of whom has Baraitser Winter Syndrome, around at once is an unmissable pleasure and great fun but boy it can be tiring!!

    The other week I was preaching in a next door Parish and the lectionary included the call of Jeremiah. He claimed he was too young. By contrast Moses was already 80 when he met the Lords at the burning bush. Yet whatever our call it is God’s call His initiative and he knows if we are old young, or middle aged and confused. He equips us for what he calls us if we follow him. Well that is the guts of what I told them.

    Life is different from 10 or more years ago. But it is certainly fun and rewarding, and hopefully lived to the Glory of God who knows anyway and has planned for us on that basis. I love your biblical perspective.

    • TC Robinson says:

      Colin,
      As Christ followers, it doesn’t matter the age or what stage of life we’re in. We’re not done until He says we are. As you correctly highlighted, the Bible is filled with these examples.

      I believe part of the problem we have with aging is because the world has put such a high premium on being young. We’ve made an idol out of youth.

      I think we both have eternity in mind. 😉

Leave a Reply

