Bishop N.T. Wright On Bible Translations!

Over a week ago I completed my reading of N.T. Wright’s The Last Word: Beyond the Bible Wars to a New Understanding of the Authority of Scripture. It’s a concise reflection on the matter of hermeneutics.

At the end of the book, however, Bishop Wright provides his take on the popular translations:

For study purposes, assuming the reader does not have access to the original languages, the New Revised Standard Version is increasingly accepted in both church and academy. It is not without its faults, and not all of its attempts to avoid gender-specific language are as felicitous as they might be. The English Standard Version follows the tradition of the Revised Standard Version closely, but has continued to use gender-specific language. The New International Version, even in its updated format, is popular, but still has several weaknesses, particularly in its handling of Paul. The New American Standard Version has become widely used, and well spoken of, in North American. (Last Word, p. 143)

As you know, the NRSV is the Bishop’s translation of choice. He certainly doesn’t think too highly of the (T)NIV. He doesn’t say a lot about the ESV, but I’m somewhat surprised of what he says about the NASB. I quit recommending the NASB.

But I still like my TNIV…


Discover more from New Leaven

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.



2 responses to “Bishop N.T. Wright On Bible Translations!”

  1. Scripture Zealot Avatar
    Scripture Zealot

    I’ve always liked the NASB although it’s never been a Bible I used other than reference. And it’s been so little mentioned in the “Bible wars” I don’t know much about its weaknesses. I never found it difficult to read or thought it sounded too wooden.

    Why don’t you recommend it? Not trying to start a war or anything, just want to learn.

    I wonder what he thinks about the HCSB.

    I had to look up felicitous. Those scholars…
    Jeff

  2. Jeff, I’ve the NASB for more than 4yrs. In some places it was difficult to read and inconsistent at times in its renderings.

    Today, for that type of Bible, I’ll recommend the NRSV and the ESV.

Leave a comment